RSS Feed

Cooking Wars! Cajun-Style Catfish

Posted on

Sir Leroy (my husband) and I have been having these little cooking wars. He loves cooking and never uses recipes. I’m not as good but I certainly try. His fish dinner this week was Tilapia. He gets my daughter’s vote as the best dinner this week. It was very good and presented very nicely.

TilapiaToday was my turn and I had a slight disadvantage because it was gymnastics day, I had tires replaced on my car, and had a long workout day. My fish dinner was a Cajun-style catfish. I got my son’s vote as the better of the two. I didn’t take a picture of the fish presented pretty on the plate but I did get one while I was cooking.

CatfishThis is a very simple, QUICK recipe. I was in the kitchen maybe 20 minutes. I personally liked my recipe better than my husband’s 🙂

Super Easy Cajun-Style Catfish

4 catfish fillets

2 teaspoons paprika

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

butter and olive oil

Mix paprika, cayenne pepper, salt, thyme and black pepper in a small bowl. Melt about 4 tablespoons of butter. Brush butter on both sides of the fillets then cover fillets with the seasoning mix. Add a little olive oil to pan and cook fillets about 4 min on each side on medium-high (higher temperature if you want blackened catfish).

These fish dinners were inspired by the recent fishing trip my husband was fortunate to be treated to. He was taken on an all-expenses paid weekend fishing trip to Louisiana and even picked up in a private plane (lucky dog)!

IMG_2544

Leave a Reply

