RSS Feed

Closet Organization, Baking and More

Posted on

Less cake-making has lead the way to many little projects finally getting done around my house, not to mention it’s a lot cleaner these days. I have always kept a tidy home but when I got busy with cakes, the housework often got neglected. So here’s what I’ve been doing with my newly found free time:

I organized my handbags using this built-in I stole from my husband’ side of the closet (a bookshelf would work just as well):

Handbag OrganizationMy shoes have been pretty organized thanks to these neat little racks from the Container Store. I love these because you can stack and expand them to fit in pretty much any space you have and with the store coupon they’re much cheaper than having a custom built-in. Some of the racks are almost ten years old so they are definitely sturdy. The design was changed a few years ago but thankfully it still worked with the few racks I had from the old design so I didn’t have to repurchase.

Shoe OrganizationI started going through my clothes and put my out-of-season and too-big-but-don’t-want-to-get-rid-of clothes in these cute storage boxes I purchased at JoAnn. A future project is to Modpodge the boot boxes underneath the storage boxes with a cute coordinating paper I also found at JoAnn.

Storage Boxes

I still have all my accessories to organize (jewelry, hats,scarves, gloves). Once those are completed, a post will follow.

Because I still love baking, of course I still do that every now and then too! This weekend I made some “from scratch” strawberry cupcakes with strawberry Swiss Meringue frosting.

Strawberry CupcakesThe next day I made a chocolate cherry cobbler for Father’s day. Boy it was a huge hit!!!! I’m not sure if my family was happy to have something other than cakes or it really was that great :). I’m going to say they really loved it because I didn’t even get a chance to take a photo of a bowl of it served with ice cream. I used a recipe I found in the latest issue of Better Homes. It can also be found here.

Chocolate Cherry CobblerLess cake-making has given me more time to work out and I also avoid having to taste test all those goodies so now the weight seems to be coming off easier 🙂

IMG_1393All work and no fun is no bueno so here I am poolside while the kids played at the pool!

IMG_1285

Leave a Reply

