RSS Feed

Igloo Cake with Penguins and Snow Display

Posted on

Here is the igloo cake I made for my son’s birthday. It was pretty easy but a little time consuming (because he wanted the penguins too). The recipe for the cake and trees is here.

Igloo CakeSugar cone trees with buttercream icing:

IMG_7817The penguins were made of gumpaste. Here is the tutorial I used. I, of course, modified my penguins.

Gumpaste Penguins
Here is a closeup of the penguin and igloo. The igloo was covered with white chocolate candy coating topped with sparkling sugar. The sugar gives it a more realistic ice-look.

Gumpaste PenguinFor the display, I used these containers to add varying heights for a more interesting look. These little containers are so practical, I have used them for many things like mixing paint and icing colors. Best part? I get tons of them for free when I order take out.

Display RisersOnce I found an arrangement I was pleased with, I covered the containers with white cotton candy. I then placed plain sugar cones on top to determine the tree placement.

Sugar Cone PlacementAnd lastly, added the trees!

Igloo Cake with Trees

 

4 responses »

  1. so cute!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

