RSS Feed

Chiles Rellenos

Having a husband who is an EXCELLENT cook and (extremely picky with food) means I usually am the one who ends up cleaning dishes. However, I have gotten serious about learning how to cook all the delicious Mexican meals my stepmom makes. She doesn’t measure anything and cooks in large batches so for an inexperienced cook like me that can be difficult but I’ve been spending more time in the kitchen and am determined to master them all. I am pleased that she was very impressed with how these turned out (this is only my first time making them). I kept it simple and did a basic cheese filling. I tried to take pictures of every step.

Chile Relleno

As seen in the picture below, you remove the seeds from the Poblano peppers and roast them for about 15 minutes. There is debate on whether the seeds should be removed before or after. My stepmom removes them after but I did beforehand just because it’s easier that way. After the peppers are roasted, place them in a bag for about 15 minutes to steam so the outer skin is easier to remove. Remove the outer skin and fill peppers with whatever filling you are using.

photo-34For the egg batter, use approximately one egg per pepper. Separate the egg whites from the yolks. Mix the egg whites until fluffy. Then add the yolks slowly, keeping the fluffy consistency. Flour the peppers then dip in the egg batter and fry in vegetable oil on medium temperature.

photo-35For the sauce that goes over the chiles, I just sauteed some garlic, onion and tomatoes then seasoned with cumin and oregano. You can add whatever chile you like for spice.

Leave a Reply

